Quick Post 11/8/13

So much to write about and so little time. Hopefully I can get the post about my dog up later this weekend.
Quick update, finished my last class at the Humane Society last night about 10pm. It was a CF in there last night, 25 people trying to walk dogs all at once with 4 volunteers helping out. Everybody including myself got lost couldn’t find the two doors outside, dog piss and puke all over the floors, people slipping and falling. It was actually pretty funny looking back on it. They use this thing call a Weiss collar there. It hooks to the dog collar then you wrap it around the dogs chest, loop it through, so when the dog pulls on the leash like many dogs do it puts pressure on their chest forcing them not to pull so hard. I had a 150 pound lab and had no problem controlling Him with this leash.
Then everybody left except me and the staff member who taught the course. I had to go one step further and walk an aggressive dog who was in their for biting people. She stuck me with a 200 plus pound Saint Bernard who I had to muzzle for safety. This big bruiser damm near dislocated my shoulder. The lady gave off a little laugh and said let me show you how. She grabbed the leash, the dog took off and she fell on her ass letting go of the dog. After about 10 minutes of chasing this dog all around the huge complex I got a hold of Him and put Him back in His kennel. Naturally I passed the finial part of all of this training. Every time I have been up their I have run into the volunteer coordinator and He has always called me by name, something I could never figure out until a couple of days ago. He asked me a day ago If I was the same Person that lived in Hayesville in the early 70’s. I said yes and long story short when He was a kid He used to come over to my house. His mom and my ex were good friends at the time. I lied and said sure I remember you. This guy will be my boss and told me to give Him a call this morning when they open, in less than an hour and He would get me in for my one on one interview with Him today instead of waiting the usual week.
Enough said, If I don’t have time to catch up with every one this morning I will before I go to bed tonight.

43 thoughts on “Quick Post 11/8/13

  1. Hey! For some crazy reason I have missed your posts. Good to see you and sounds like a great opportunity for you! Look forward to hearing more.
    cate

  2. Which just goes to prove that you never know who you might meet in your every day life! Also, it’s not what you know but who you know πŸ˜‰
    Congratulations on completing the training Bob, hope your shoulder is feeling better πŸ˜‰

  3. love it! I bet it was all you could do to hold back your innards from tee total laughter when that woman fell on her ass…
    “..I lied and said sure I remember you.”…..Hot Dang!
    Your universe is revolving positive all around…count me in Bob!

    • Well Hot Dag back at you Lisa, love that southern drawl you do πŸ™‚ I laughed harder last night than I have in years. The universe does seem to be moving in my favor for a change

  4. That is hilarious! It sounds like sheer bedlam and good training experience for man and dog alike! Thanks for sharing it with us. I got a good laugh out of it and you passed the test. It sounds like all is going well then! Blessing upon you and keep up the good work! Queen Of Hearts

  5. Wow. What an experience for you! And how small is the world that you’d run into someone from the past like that.

  6. I’m amazed that a dog can be so big! But I’m sure you have a gift with handling them – a mixture of confidence, understanding and straightforwardness.

    • Thanks for your vote of confidence Denise. I was in there alot today and looked up the stats on this dog and it weighed 234 pounds. It was listed as being overweight πŸ™‚

  7. I love this… I think it is supper cool you are working with animals… that must have been one big ass dog. Bishop used to come at me full blast and take me down. HA.

  8. Great post. You had me laughing as I’m sure you must have been doing. They say laughter is the best medicine and hope you feel as good as I did after reading it. The doing must have been even more fun. Sounds like a really positive outcome and a blast from the past (even though you don’t remember him).

  9. Huge stories here in such a small space – you certainly had my imagination going and vivid images popping out from every cerebral nook and cranny – funny & touching. Thanks for this! Have a great weekend!

  10. Congratulations, Bob. Great story. I just love what you’re doing here for the Humane Society. It’s heartwarming to read about it and it also sounds like fun.

  11. You are one kind soul to be working with the humane society! Your training sounds like it had it’s share of challenges, however. I can’t imagine being yanked by a 200 pound dog. My dog weighs 37 pounds and he yanks me around forcefully, but add the weight of another four of my dogs to the mix and I don’t think my arm would still be attached to my body. Congrats on getting through the training! Celeste πŸ™‚

  12. you’re funny bob! you sure know how to tell a story with some “oomph”! lol…glad you didn’t dislocate your shoulder! and who know where you’ll end up after your interview? πŸ˜‰
    looking forward to hearing about how your dog is coming along too! enjoy your day!

    • I am so far behind, I start tomorrow. I will be working at the canine assessment team. This is where they test the dogs that come in and decide many things, like their breed, characteristics, type of home they would best fit in, three different categories of their activities and a whole laundry list of other things. I picked this one because it is one of the two hardest and one that is actually scheduled, all the others you can come and go as you please.My mutt is doing fine one of these days I need to write a post about Him, all I need is time πŸ™‚

      • time has a way of collecting itself and before you know you’ll be caught up! sounds like you’ve got a really interesting job…and it’s obvious you care about animals too. so i guess it’s a good “fit” for you πŸ™‚
        kind of interesting to be able to test and get all that info on the animals…and also quite the challenge as well…glad your dog (btw i think mutts are some of the best dogs) πŸ˜‰ post his picture when he’s doing better, i’m sure he’s adorable!

      • Thanks Selah, I will find out today when I start my permanent position at the Humane Society. If time has a way of collecting itself it had better get to working for me πŸ™‚ I do need to post about my dog, I have the before picture but not a after picture yet.

      • best of luck to you bob! i’m sure you’ll be very happy working for them…and you’ll have your happy puppy to come home to as well! πŸ™‚

      • Thanks Selah, yesterday was my first day doing my regular thing. I did enjoy it, and when I came home my old dog, no puppy πŸ™‚ was glad to see me.

      • πŸ™‚ sounds awesome, glad it was a good day for both of you πŸ™‚

  13. What a great opportunity! Animals are so much fun to work with.

  14. Lol, it sounds like you will probably do well at this! At least as well or better than some of the staff, LOL!! Looking forward to seeing a picture of your own dog, Bob, and I know you’ll do very well at your new position there at the humane society!

    • Thanks Becky, I am so far behind I have already worked two 6 hour shifts in my new position and have really enjoyed it. They trained me for a couple of hours then turned me loose on my own

      • Well, that means you are good at what you do, experienced at some things, and quick to catch on to anything you don’t know about! I’m sure you are a great asset to them and they are sure to want you there a lot! I’m so glad you are liking it there!

      • Thanks for your kind words Becky I have a problem saying no to them. My 4 hour shift yesterday turned into 7, I didn’t have enough food with me. When I got home I was so tired I fell asleep in the recliner about 7pm and woke up at midnight

      • At that rate you’re going to end up running the place before long, lol — they won’t be able to manage without you! Well, good people are hard to find, especially when it comes to volunteer work, so it’s not surprising that they would lean on you for a lot of things.

  15. sounds a real hoot! Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

