Brain Dump 9/7/13

This is my favorite type of post to do. I just set here and see what spills out of the old brain. I jump around with no rhyme or reason so they are sometimes hard to follow. This may take 30 minutes or 3 days to finish I just never know.

First an update on my moving thing. I found an apartment yesterday that is in the perfect location for me. Close to a carport a view of the huge courtyard which includes the swimming pool and volleyball court plus much more. The lady in there is turning in her keys on the 10th which gives me until about the 20th to decide if I want it or not. The only down side is it is 25 dollars more a month than my current rent. I can afford it the question is do I want to spend the extra 300 a year or let it go. I have some time to think about it.

My four hour a night sleep pattern shifted to three hours a night about a week ago. That’s when MR prostate wakes me and try as I might I just can’t go back to sleep. I wake up feeling the lack of sleep and stumble around running into walls until the my beloved coffee is done.

Early mornings have always been my favorite part of the day. It started in the Army where I got up almost every day at five AM. I drink my first cup of coffee in kind of daze waiting for the caffeine to kick in. It is a very peaceful time I don’t think about anything at all I just exist. By the second cup my neurons start to connect and fire and very quickly I become deep in thought first about anything going on I need to tend to then about this site. By my third cup this is when my brain is the most creative it will be during the day. This is when I attempt to write a post.

I have noticed recently that my friends usually post in three different shifts. I have the ones that post early in the morning. One to three am my time. Then the middle of the day ones that post around 11 to 12 my time. Last the ones that post after five pm. FYI I try never to get on here after five pm. I need the evenings to myself.

I still cannot get used to that damm reader. The big thing I like about emails is I can pick up my phone throughout the day and keep track of whats going on. This determines when I need to get back on the site to catch up. I usually get on here three times a day so it’s not like I spend all day on here. The reader reminds me of a slot machine something that used to cost me a considerable amount of money until I got a handle on that. Could that be why I hate it ?

Screeeeeeeeech that was the sound of my brain shifting from one side to the other πŸ™‚

If you are even thinking about upgrading to a windows eight touchscreen computer in the future don’t do it if you have a limited plan like I do. I had to shut down all of the live tiles and work out of the desktop mode. I have 10 GB a month now and that is not enough I still have to use wifi few times a week. If you have unlimited data like most of you seem to go for the touch screen it is well worth the extra 150 dollars extra last time I checked.

Damm back to the other side. I actually spent about an hour yesterday looking at my stats page in detail for the first time and found out a couple of things. I noticed almost all of my friends use the reader, I want to than you all for clicking through to get to my site. I know this because my likes or comments match up with my views. I think I got that right. I also noticed in the extended part of the stat that without fail my wordless Wednesday is my most popular post from week to week and for all time. That surprised me until I realized that post is the one that attracts the real photographers and other strangers that have a wordless Wednesday page.

This is a first,a brain dump without a rant or a rave. So is it really a brain dump or a this and that ?

30 thoughts on “Brain Dump 9/7/13

  1. And a good dump it is πŸ™‚ as to the $25 more a month for rent the way that I would attack the decision is: I like being at home so I want it to have the things around that I like and use or even look at and enjoy. So if the new premises will add to your enjoyment $300 a year is most probably a good investment – you’d spend at least that much getting out and finding (and paying for) the things you enjoy – this way if you have a nicer home you’d do the latter less frequently… Don’t like the touchscreen myself, tried it but it soon got on my nerves πŸ˜€ Cheers and keep on dumping although blogging can get overwhelming and time consuming so I love how you take the evenings for yourself. Must try that one

    • Thanks for your input. You made me think of something very useful. I have always considered all the apartments I live in a house not a home because of the many times I move. Hopefully I can stay in this one place for more than a year and start to look at it like a home. Girl you are on every site I follow and when I go looking around as well you have to spend a huge amount of time on here. Give yourself some time, I learned this the hard way that’s why I have evenings to myself and take to days off the post will still be here when I get back πŸ™‚

      • Yes, the trick is to call a place home. I do spend quite a bit of time online – early morning and night – I work in between πŸ™‚ – I do enjoy it though but if I feel tired I will give myself a break. Cheers and good luck with making choice for new flat

      • Thanks now I am really amazed that you work and cover all those blogs you must be a speed reader 😊 Have a great day my friend

      • Yes something like that but it takes time nevertheless πŸ˜€ Cheers

  2. I’m a late night poster, but not sure what that translates to where you are. Probably next day.

    I like the reader. I’ve tried to get into eg Network Blogs, Bloglovin etc but find them harder to use. Maybe we are just creatures used to our habits. Or maybe the content is better on WordPress. I don’t know.

    • Thanks Denise you are right that puts you into my next day or early morning group it is 4 Am here now. I started out on blog spot and just didn’t like it somebody suggest WordPress and I have been here since and don’t foresee moving. I think you nailed it when you said we are creatures used to or own habits. Have a great day my friend πŸ™‚

  3. Good news – your “brain dump” is neither a rant or a rave ; definitely a “this and that” which is far preferable πŸ™‚ When I “brain dump” it always comes across as a rant. I’m not sure if you remember this post….

    http://notestoponder.wordpress.com/2013/07/18/when-does-opinion-become-rant/

    As for your move – I would suggest living in the place that feels right πŸ™‚

    • I followed your link as soon as I saw it I remembered. Mine normally come out as a rant as well I kinda surprised myself today. Good advice for the move thanks.

  4. when you offload, I usually find a useful tip here n’there

  5. I’m dreading my laptop ‘dying’ on me, which it has threatened to do so several times (so backing up constantly) as I do not want Windows 8. Even my very computer techy savy 21 year old daughter doesn’t want Windows 8. She has Asperger’s so for her the change would be very stressful but I feel the same way! We definitely do get into which habits work the best for us. I admire you Bob for what you have learnt here, I still haven’t got a clue how to interpret my stats properly. Admittedly, I hardly spend any time studying them. Maybe I should. I also only farily recently discovered how to use the reader properly! Gosh, I must sound really dumb!!!

    • Not dumb at all how can you be you write a lot better than I do 😊 as far as windows 8 you will have a very hard time finding a new computer with windows 7 on it. With the new update that comes out next month they have brought back the start button in the lower left corner just like windows 7 and you can use the desktop mode like I mentioned there is even a app out now that I use that has the start button. Take a little time and ho to some computer tech sites like cnet and look at there reviews win 8 has been out over a year it is the most stable build ever, more secure boots faster I can’t think of one reason not to get it better yet ho into a best buy and try one out in the desktop mode damm I could have wrote a blog LOL

      • LOL! Thanks Bob, ok, ok, you’ve sold me! Seriously though, thanks for the very helpful info. It’s been such a learning curve lately, been blogging since January, then got a smartphone after having my faithful Motorola flip phone for 7 years (upcoming blog post about that!!), then signing up to Facebook and LinkedIn. So, I just want my faithful laptop to keep chugging right along. Mind you, I do have a lot of problems with it – it’s a Dell, same as my daughters – and I know it is just a matter of time before we both have to bite the bullet πŸ˜‰

      • Sold πŸ™‚ I only started blogging a few months before you did. I got my first smart phone about 8 months ago and wouldn’t ever consider going back to a dumb phone. I have been on and off of Facebook since they started it. I just use it now to stay in touch with my kids and a few friends.I did like it when I started out and hopefully you will to !

      • Thanks Bob! I’m getting there πŸ˜‰

  6. Three hours sleep! Is that a good thing or a bad thing?

  7. I think we all have brain dumps! It’s not just you..so I’d say you are in good company.

  8. I prefer having blog posts emailed to me rather than using the reader. Your posts get emailed to me and I usually click to them from there.

  9. Good luck with the move. I always get a kick out of your takes on readership. LOL I post pretty much when I have time and inclination, sometimes a lot, sometimes a little. As to windows 8, haven’t looked into it much but figured it would follow the MS pattern. ME was awful, XP was great, Vista was awful, 7 was great. I just assumed 8 would be awful, so might as well wait for its replacement. Every other (alternating) OS seems to be the winner for MS.

    • Thanks I think 😊 windows 8 is awesome for me much better and faster than 7. I wouldn’t rush out and get it if I had 7 and wasn’t having any problems. I skipped Vista it was the worst yet

  10. Your sleep patterns are very similar to my husband’s and for much of the same reasons — seems like the military stays with a person long after the duty is done, lol. The getting up during the night is tough, and can make a person tired all the time. I have wanted to try the touch screen one day but have not been sure I wanted to — glad you talked about it in this post. Always enjoy catching up with you, Bob.

  11. Hi Bob, does a brain dumb necessarily have to contain a rant or a rave? I don’t see the correlation; seems like you are calm and optimist – a good thing to report on. I love mornings too; especially the weekends, when I can pass the early mornings in quiet savoring my coffee. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

