Why

Why did WordPress put that new feature on that says you both liked post on these blogs. This shows me that I have a circle of friends that pretty much like the same friends that I do. It is also a huge a huge distraction for me. I catch myself looking down at it, some of them contain 20 or more people and see a face I don’t recognize. I then feel the need to click on that person and see why I liked their post in the first place. I would guess I waste at least an hour a day doing this.

Why is it that I have about Four friends that I comment on their post on a regular basis that WordPress will occasionally put under my comment awaiting moderation. I thought this was only supposed to happen the first time. It never happens on my side when they comment on my post.

Why do people on here suddenly start to follow you without a comment or a like posted to your page. I know some of them are trying to sell you gimmicks to increase your traffic or sell you on upgrading to the premium edition. The majority seem to be normal people with followers that range from a few to 30 or 40. Some of them I have tried to follow back and a few work out well but the majority of them just leave you hanging.

Why does WordPress out of nowhere suddenly decide on its own to unfollow friends that I have been following for a short time and a long time. I can’t find a pattern it just seems to do it when it wants to, and no it is not something I am doing. So if you are a friend and happen to be bored enough to read this garbage, let me know If I have gotten behind on your post. I always catch up every day so if I missed you it was not me but this problem I am having.

Why is it that sometimes in life once you get what you thought you wanted you realize that in my case all it does is adding to the time I spend on here each day. I have mentioned many times on here the reason I started to blog so I wont repeat them. Anyone who doesn’t know or remember the reasons are listed on my about page. I did what I swore I never would do, I fell into the popularity trap. I now follow about 60 blogs, I still follow them because I like them but I have discovered something about my greedy self. I would rather have 20 likes and a half-dozen comments on each post than the few I started with and used to be content with. I do get rid of a few friends each week that have become to big for their britches and left me in the wayside, but I seem some how to pick up just as many. I am not even fishing for friends anymore they come to me, has the word gotten out that I am a sucker. It can’t be for the garbage I post on here, I am not or never will be a writer in any sense of the word. I have friends that can complete a 700 word post in less than an hour but this simplistic post has taken me over an hour so far because I keep loosing my focus for lack of a better word.

Why is it that two of the people I follow, the ones who post six or more times a day have discovered a way to block their post from the reader. I am trying to use this unfamiliar tool but still have to use the emails as a back up. I can be so scattered brained at times I just thought of an answer to my own why. I can just set my email for these two people and not the rest. I still am curious if others have run into this problem because I know some of my friends are following the same two people.

44 thoughts on “Why

  1. Ha, ha, your posts like this always crack me up. I hadn’t noticed that WordPress unfollows friends though. That’s a bit odd.

  2. First – I believe that anyone who chooses to write wants others to read their words. I’m a statistic junkie on one hand, a who gives a F on the other.Regardless of likes or comments I’ll continue to write what I feel like at the moment. I’ve noticed lots of the people I follow no longer show up on the wordpress reader – this is annoying, I’m busy, work bat shit crazy hours and appreciated how easy it was to scroll down the reader, and touch base with people I follow. I’m not offended in the slightest if people who follow me don’t like or comment – I appreciate the exchanges I have with those who care to respond and only hope the rest remember what it was that made them follow in the first place – hopefully taking a peek once in a while. Great post by the way πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for your comment and input. I know it is a pain for you as well but at least I know I am not the only one having that problem with the reader. I must admit you have a better attitude toward your followers that ignore you than I do. I am not sure when or why I became so bitter about this whole bit. πŸ™‚

      • The way I see it some of my posts are better than others, some are down-right crappy.I can’t expect someone to comment or like something that leaves them cold.I’m happy that at least something I wrote touched them on some level – whatever lead them to follow in the first place will hopefully bring them back. I write for me – don’t get me wrong, I’m thrilled to debate, discuss, and meet new people. I would hate to ever feel like I was pressured into saying something that wasn’t honest just to remain a follow. πŸ™‚

      • I feel very similar to you. I still at am a loss why anyone would read the crap I post.

      • Sometimes it isn’t crap πŸ™‚

    • I have a similar stand on this. I follow people that write the way it speaks to me. However, I do not expect them to follow me back or even comment on my blog. I will like a post or comment on one if I have something to say. I might just like a post but have nothing to say and I do not like just because…If I like the post, I have read it and thought about it.

      I follow a lot of people and I do not have time to read all of their posts. Blogging should not be about the amount of “follows” or “likes” you get, it should be about reaching people who need/want to read what you have to say. It is about starting a discussion, creating an awareness, and making people think for themselves

  3. Oh crap! WordPress is doing all this? I seriously did not know..now this would explain why some on my regulars have recently gone missing and why I don’t see some of the blogs I follow pop up on my reader anymore..Damn you WordPress, you hook us first and now you are messing with us. Grrrr!

    See..this is why I like follow new blogs. Had I not followed you a couple of weeks back, I would have been unaware of all the nasties WordPress is pulling on us. So don’t be so hard bout following new blogs. It’s all good.:)

    • I am surprised by all of the comments I thought this was only happening to me. I didn’t mean to come across as a dislike for new blogs I just cant manage any more is all. I looked this morning after I made the post and I am following 65 blogs. That is about the max I can handle πŸ™‚

  4. good blog!! i enjoyed all the things you touched on….glad you got your meds without any complications, and i agree , the WP shaningans are ridiculous! i had no idea (being the novice on here) they were playing around like that! so if you don’t hear from me in a certain amount of time please check to make sure i’m still there, i don’t want to lose a blog i enjoy!!
    thanks for always keeping us up to speed with your info, people like me find it interesting and informative…
    hope you relax a bit and take things slow to keep the anxiety level at bay…hope your days is a good one! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for your concern. I don’t think this is happening to everyone. This is a huge site so it is bound to have so hiccups from time to time. They just all landed on me at once it seems. I am going to relax in a sense this afternoon collage football starts today, the only sport I ever watch on TV πŸ™‚

  5. I am totally new to the blogging world, which seems to have complicated dynamics. Is it possible to read all blogs every time there is a post and still go out to work and socialize?

    • OMG what a question I need to think on this for a minute. The short answer is yes. Blogging is no different than anything else in life you tend to get out of it what you put into it. It depends on many things like how many followers you want, what type of blogs interest you, how long it takes you to write a blog and most importantly to me anyway what type of blogs you are interested in. I follow post that are 700 words long all the way to photo blogs which have few if any words. It does take a little more time in the begging to sort through every thing to find what interest you. I am retired so I have a lot of time on my hands. I normally spend about 3 hours on here in the morning the about two about this time then another one or two up until 5 PM then I get off the site no matter what. I was getting so overwhelmed I started to take 2 days a week off from here much like you would a regular job. Keep in mind I follow a lot of blogs. I hope this helped I don’t want to scare you away, the answer still remains yes to your original question. If anyone else reads The question from Emy fell free to way in I hope I dint give her any misguided advice.

  6. Phone app just ate my response twice – yet another thing to complain about with WP.

    • Yea got to love it πŸ™‚ I had problems with The phone app from the beginning. I quit using it and just bookmarked the Dashboard and on my phone do everything from there.

  7. I’m in the clueless category……. I just decided to write and whatever – I rarely get likes and comments are rare. I just know I like to write and need to write. You are one of my number 1 fans πŸ˜‰

  8. Oh my it sounds like it’s time to set yourself free! Be free my friend! Do not let your blog enslave you..you do have a life and a choice. Go for it. Much love and light to you and have a blessed day! Queen Of Hearts

  9. I will try not to do any of the things that make you ask Why.

    You have a great natural writing style that is very fresh and appealing.

    Your pictures are great.

    And it’s refreshing to hear someone say the things I wondered but didn’t want to sound like I was grumbling about… you make it so funny. My Why is – when I write about anything food related, there are a bundle of people who click Like without looking at my page. I can tell this from my stats (as they are so small!) because my likes go up and there are no views in that period.

    • Thank you for the comment Denise and welcome to my blog! My writing style as you call it is very simplistic I simply say what is on my mind and let the chips fall where they may. I would be lost without spell checker and grammar checker πŸ™‚ There are a lot of people who use the reader just to punch the like button without going to the site, which you know is why your stats are so low it has been my experience that these are usually people who get 40 or more like a day on there post. I like to call them power bloggers because they follow so many blogs and all they are concerned about is the almighty like button. I always came up two short in the stats area which probably isn’t two bad. I was able to figure out which two people they were and after writing to them I no longer follow them.

      • I find it crazy that people do power blogging (excellent description btw). Is it just an ego thing for them to have so many likes?

        I was quite naive when I started blogging. I thought I was going to have loads of interesting discussions with different people about books and films and life. I do have lots of discussions, but there is so much NOISE! out there. I call it noise – where people are trying to promote something or sell you something, especially those ones that call themselves “professional bloggers”. How can they make any money? Who goes to those sites and thinks Hey this is just what I always needed in my life?

        Anyway, I am pleased that I found your pictures and words to add to my reader. I will look forward to your posts.

  10. I have had blogs I follow drop unexpectedly from my reader. I have also had followers who come back and tell it happened to them with my blog. I have no idea why that happens at times.

    I have noticed that some people never comment. I just assumed that they are more reticent…or too busy to actually read closely and are maybe just looking at photos. (I have been in a conference that was over 12 hours/day for 3 days and have just now been able to come back and catch up on posts. The more people you follow, the more difficult it is to stay caught up, so I can understand why some don’t comment.)

    I rarely pay attention to the extra WordPress info on blogs my friends follow, blogs I liked posts on, but don’t follow, etc., and that is intentional for the same reason you point out.

    Some blogs can’t be followed in the reader because they are part of WordPress.com. Could that be the reason for the two mention?

    I have decided that accumulating followers/likes/comments is not so important. It’s the people and connections that count. The more genuine a person is, the more I appreciate the connection. And that is why I like following YOU!!!

    • I am still surprised at how many of you have had the same problem with blogs dropping from the reader I thought it was just me. I have a lot of people who don’t comment either but I like to tell myself they at least read my post. This probably isn’t the case but it works for me. The two blogs that I mentioned were WordPress.com But after talking to them the other day I no longer follow them so that problem is solved.They didn’t admit what they were doing but they didn’t deny it either. I am retired so I have much more time on my hands than most people on here which allows me to follow more blogs and still comment on some. I don’t comment on all because they either don’t require a comment or I have nothing worthy to say. Genuine people are sometimes hard to find on here and I want to thank you for thinking I am one of them!

  11. Hi! I’m hope I’m still on your follow list….even though I’ve been a bit spacey lately. I got bored with my original posting trio of quote, jewelry and book review so I won’t be bugging everyone so many times a day LOL.
    Anyway, I think people follow without a ‘like’ or a message because they are just looking for new content to read and start randomly following people who happen to like the same post they do or something simple like that…I do it sometimes.
    : )
    I like reading your ramblings, you’re honest and write just to write, which is nice. There are a lot of pretentious blogs out there and I prefer the honest ones. But I’m babbling, as usual!

    • Yes Melissa you are still on my list πŸ™‚ Your three post a day were actually easy to follow because they were so short. If you got bored with them that is OK because I know you have writing skills. I have seen them and believe you have the ability to write longer blogs about anything you choose. I used to do the same thing just follow blogs because I liked the content but now I follow so many my time doesn’t allow me to do this anymore. My ramblings are my favorite type of post to do because I never know when I start the post what the end result will be. Ramble on Girl its you dime πŸ™‚

  12. I just don’t take blogging that seriously, I do it because i enjoy it. That Reader has never held the blogs I follow or read, ever, so I don’t use it. I go and see who visited me and visit them back when time allows, that’s it. I do not know anything about that feature you mentioned at the top of your post and haven’t seen it at all. Where is that feature?

  13. […] are people who have 30,000 follows. My friend Bob uses the term β€œpower blogger”, to describe people who indiscriminately hit the Like button in […]

  14. Your posts are entertaining and funny, and you have a great way of expressing yourself. Also you don’t BS, so that’s refreshing for a lot of people. Your posts aren’t crap. The site gives us the choice of having people’s comments moderated the first time or having them moderated every time, and each blogger can choose which one they want. I am still not getting any email notifications, and I have also stopped seeing some of the people I follow in the reader. I feel especially handicapped not getting the email notifications, so I can feel for you having people you follow fall off the reader. It’s natural to want people to read posts and then not have the time to keep up with the work it takes when that happens. You really keep up pretty well. As far as your other Whys I have no ideas, so when you find out maybe you can pass that on, lol. It’s always a pleasure catching up with you through your posts, Bob.

    • Thanks Becky, I have gone back to the emails to me they are just more reliable and I can tell at a glance how far behind I am. I do need to go in and change my comments so I don’t have to keep approving them thanks for the reminder. Have a great day my friend.

Leave a Reply

