The Reader and Some Questions

I tried using the reader for two days now. It is not as intimidating as facing so many emails but I don’t find it any quicker or easier to use. By the time I click through the link to get to the story and usually leave a comment, exit out back to the reader It seems slower to me than using emails, could be that I am used to emails as well. Some one did tell me if you use the reader you must click through the site or your followers are not getting credit for a view when you use it. Am I the only one that didn’t know that ?

I also cant figure out how to use the reader to see replies to my comments, I could use a little help on this one.

Someone else suggested that I change my settings on my followers that post 3 or more times a day, I did that and it cuts down on my email as well. So if you are one of those who post a lot I will only see your post for a 24 hour period each day, don’t get all upset if I don’t like or comment on every one every day I will get to them the next day.

Someone replied to a lengthy comment I made yesterday that caught my attention. So I did a little research and found out my writing style is actually better when I make a comment than when I am posting. Any amateur shrinks have clue why I am doing this?

Something else recently changed for me on word-press, now I have to sign in every time I want to hit the like button on my computer and phone. Is this new a glitch or what I used to be able to stay signed in.

 

21 thoughts on “The Reader and Some Questions

  1. The reader has improved with the last iPhone update. I would say make sure you have the app update and give it another day or two to see how you like it. WP does seem to randomly sign us out so that we have to sign back in. It is part of their security and server management. If you click remember me when you sign in you shouldn’t have to so it every time unless you’re blocking cookies.

  2. I don’t use a iPhone I have a windows phone it has a WordPress app as well I do use the remember me but that should be just for the user name. I have a program that lets me choose which cookies to keep and I keep the ones from WordPress. Thanks, much appreciated !

  3. I use the Reader. I gave up on emails a while ago. If the posts are short I can see the whole thing in my Reader. If I “Like” the post then the blogger gets a record of my Like but the visit counter doesn’t get incremented because I didn’t actually visit the site. I found this out because the number of Likes in my Stats didn’t match my visitor numbers. It annoyed me because people were obviously clicking Like without reading my posts – they are too long to display fully in the Reader. I figure they are only doing it to get reciprocal Likes. Anyway, I’ve cooled down a bit now I’ve got used to the way people use WordPress. There are a lot of people out there who just want to improve their Stats and aren’t genuinely interested in what other people are saying. It’s no different than any other human arena I guess.
    I don’t really know how to answer your questions. Sorry I can’t help.

  4. i get a little confuse with the reader as well, but then again, the whole WP set up confuses me! lol
    i hope someone can help you, good luck, there’s plenty of smart people out there…sorry i can’t help you…enjoy your day 🙂

  5. Yes if you’re using the Reader and don’t click on link to article then no credit for visit to the post/blog. I always visit the site and click the link to it. To me pressing Like means a lot because I like only the articles I like, not automatic press Like etc but don’t always comment because to be Like is a comment too and creates sense of dynamics.

  6. I’m glad it’s not just my iphone that makes me sign in ALL THE TIME! I use reader because I hate opening my email. : )

  7. Didn’t know about the not getting the likes or clicks in the reader. Sometimes it’s just and image and there’s no need to continue on to the site. Thanks for the heads up.

  8. The reader is simple-looking but kind of hard to figure out. I still don’t have it figured out totally, so I understand what you’re going through. Lately the email notices have gotten too hard to keep up with, so I may have to switch to the reader. Then maybe I’ll figure it out, lol! Sorry I couldn’t be of much help.

Leave a Reply

