Computer Security Part 2

Once again, sorry Mac users these programs wont work on your computer. The reason you don’t need them or have security issues is only 5% of the computers sold world-wide use Mac. The hackers go where the money is and all the banks,credit cards, stock market and all government sites use windows.

Windows users: Hopefully you are at least using windows defender and keeping it up dated to protect your computer. Plus doing at least a weekly full scan on your computer. All of the information I get as well as the links below come from a site called CNET. It is constantly rated as the number one site for reliable computer information. All of the programs listed below are freeware and don’t cost a cent to use. The first two have advanced editions as well but you pay and they are not worth as long as you use a combination of two virus detection devices. One last thing before I discuss each one. If you choose one or both of the first two programs watch out when you install them. One or both of them will try to get you to install a tool bar or Google chrome. Just hit decline and it will continue.

Avast is rated higher than windows defender in its ability to block and find a virus on your computer. You can run this with windows defender, they both run in the background and Avast uses less ram than defender. Just click on the link below and it will take you to CNET to download this program.

Avast download:
http://download.cnet.com/Avast-Free-Antivirus/3000-2239_4-10019223.html

I choose to go what I believe is a better way. I use Avast and AVG. I ditched defender completely for many reasons. Both of these programs together use just a bit more ram than defender by itself. The main reason I use AVG as well is when you do a search on Bing, it may work on Google as well, don’t have a clue. Right beside the search results it shows green bars, meaning this is a tested site and one that is safe to use. Just a couple of days ago I was searching for something, I clicked on the link and Avast blocked it in bright red telling me this site contains malicious data. I backed out of the site and sure enough it had no green bars from AVG. If you choose to go the route I did the link for AVG is listed below.

AVG Download:
http://download.cnet.com/AVG-AntiVirus-Free-2013/3000-2239_4-10320142.html?tag=main;pop

One last note on the two programs listed above. They both have scanning programs built-in as well. They are designed to pickup anything that slipped through their initial protection. Avast has a quick scan and a complete scan. I normally do the quick scan daily while I am on the web and the full scan once a week. AVG tells you when a scan is needed. If you feel comfortable you can fool with the settings but you don’t have to the default settings work quite well, if they pick up something they will give you options on how to deal with it. If you do don’t hesitate to ask me if you are unsure what to do.

One last program to talk about is Malwarebytes. This is a stand alone program, which means you have to launch it separately it is not designed to run in the background like the other two. If you choose to ignore all the other programs I have talked about please consider using this one. This thing has a snooper like a blood hound. It will pick up even low-level threats. Low level threats wont actually harm your computer but I still don’t want them on mine. This also has a quick scan and a full one. It takes 20 to 30 minutes to run the full scan depending on your processor speed. Don’t even mess with the quick scan, I do a full scan once a week with this one. I an almost guarantee you the first time you use this you will find bugs on your computer. Even people who use Norton Security should give this one a try at least once. The link is listed below.

http://download.cnet.com/Malwarebytes-Anti-Malware/3000-8022_4-10804572.html?tag=main;pop
The three programs listed above are the three top downloads on CNET all of the time. They are also a big part in my computer repair usb stick.

I know this is a lot of information to try to take in at once. If you have questions ask, if you come up with a bug, copy it, send it to me and I will tell you what to do with it if you are unsure. In return maybe some day one of you can teach me how to write. 🙂

In the next and final part I will discuss, cookies, the best way to fix a fragmented hard drive and backups.

14 thoughts on “Computer Security Part 2

  1. Amy @ Healthy and Fit for Real

    I use Avast and this was a good reminder for me to download the program again since mine has expired! Thanks!

  2. Good info. I use Norton and have tried Malwarebytes before. Fortunately it only identified cookies on my computer (which Norton also finds), so I deleted it figuring Norton was doing the job. Although I like the one stop protection of Norton, it requires a paid subscription and if Norton gets breached, so does my system. The programs you mention are great for anyone on a budget or likes the security of knowing you’re not dependent on a single program for protection.

    • Thanks, like I said before Norton is the best you can get. I used it for several years, before I retired. Now that I am on a budget I had to goo the poor mans way.

  3. This is really good information, Xbox. I am going to pass this on.

  4. Reblogged this on KERRI CHRONICLES and commented:
    If your looking for a free way to protect your computer, this is a must read.

  5. Very Interesting Information!

  6. AVG is a good one and I used to use it all the time, and it kept my computer clean or else got rid of whatever got in. I have never used Avast but have heard good things about it. I’ll have to include Malwarebytes on my list of free stuff for computers. If it doesn’t interfere with my virus protection it might be worth downloading. Thanks for the info, Bob, and I hope you are having a great week!

    • Thanks for the comment Becky, Malwarebytes wont interfere with your avast, I normally use it once a week, usually it will catch some low level threats that got by avast.

Leave a Reply

