Computer Security Part 1

I decided to do this post a few weeks ago because several people were starting to ask me questions about computers for the technical challenged person. Their words. It is no secret to people who have been following me for a while know I have a moderate memory loss. Yet I do read several sites daily about computers and tech stuff to stay informed. I have been a computer nerd since my first commodore 64. I have a part-time job-hobby of repairing computers for people I know, so they don’t have to take them in to a computer place and get ripped off. I only charge 50 bucks. Everything I am going post on this article and the next has to do with windows only. Mac users, you will have to do your own grunt work, all I know about Mac computers is you overpaid for your computer just get the name Mac on it. I going to pay for that comment. πŸ™‚

Java has emerged as arguably the No. 1 Web threat – and you’d be wise to disable it.
You almost certainly use multiple Java-enabled devices every day without realizing it. Because Java is so embedded in all forms of computing, it has emerged as a ripe attack surface for cybercriminal.
No surprise, then, that cybercriminals have been intensively probing Java for security flaws. One way they take advantage is to use Java to force malicious software on your computing device in what’s called a “drive-by download,” says Corey Nachreiner, strategy director at WatchGuard.
Drive-by downloads unfold silently and invisibly. You click on a Web link or visit a website booby-trapped to steer you to an infection. The bad guys then steal your account log-ons, contacts and personal information. But they don’t stop there. “Once they control your computer, they can access pathways to information and other devices on any network you may be part of, ” Nachreiner says.
Java-based attacks have been implicated in data breaches at big media companies such as The New York Times and Wall Street Journal, tech giants such as Google, Twitter and Yahoo, and many big banks.
The Department of Homeland Security earlier this year advised Americans to disable Java, endorsing a consensus in the security community that Java’s risks now overshadow its benefits for most consumers and many businesses.
Source: USA Today.
I used this source because it explained the problem in layman’s language.

Unless you do online gaming on your computer there is no need for you to run java on your computer. I run into sites all the time,even on here that say you must use java to see this slide show. Not true windows can handle this task without java.
The best advice I will provably ever give you is to disable or remove java from your computer.
Here is how you uninstall Java on windows. If you just want to disable it wait until the next installment of this post. Not sure why you would want to but I will cover that next anyway.
Older versions of Java may appear in the program list as J2SE, Java 2, Java SE or Java Runtime Environment.

Windows 8 – Uninstall Programs
1. Right-click on the screen at bottom-left corner and choose the Control Panel from the pop-up menu.
2. When the Control Panel appears, choose Uninstall a Program from the Programs category.
3. Select the program to uninstall and then click its Uninstall button.
4. Click Yes to confirm the program uninstall.
Windows 7 and Vista – Uninstall Programs
1. Click Start
2. Select Control Panel
3. Select Programs
4. Click Programs and Features
5. Select the program you want to uninstall by clicking on it, and then click the Uninstall button.
You may need administrator privileges to remove programs.
Windows XP – Uninstall Programs
1. Click Start
2. Select Control Panel
3. Click the Add/Remove Programs control panel icon
4. The Add/Remove control panel displays a list of software on your system, including any Java software products that are on your computer. Select any that you want to uninstall by clicking on it, and then click the Remove button.

22 thoughts on “Computer Security Part 1

  1. Ooooh, so busy working with the computer I haven’t realised that dangers lurk behind/within Java. Must check out more about that. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

  2. and what about security packages like Norton? Any help using them or no impact on Java?

  3. melissa nacinovich

    I’ll let your mac hating slide, this time LOL

  4. I’m a mac girl like Melissa;) Great post.

  5. Thanks Bob for the tips about Java. I am known by my coworkers at Dell as the person that rants about the problems with Java.

    • Thanks Dell, at least I am not the only one that is trying to spread the word about Java problems. Judged by the comments I got yesterday most people aren’t paying attention. But they cant say they weren’t warned !thanks for catching up on all of my post I appreciate it.

  6. Hi Bob, I’m not offended by the MAC comment. πŸ˜‰ However, in MAC defense, I became fed up with all the required repair, viruses, and sluggishness, and eventual replacements after about two years with my Dell laptops and Sony desktops, and so I switched to a MAC (with a nice discount received from being a student at CA State Chico). It has been problem free and has stayed fast and alert for nearly a year, so I have no complaints. But yes, it was many years that I eyed them with no way to afford one.

    • Hi Stephanie, the Mac is a good computer but you still might want to see if you have java on it or not. Just because its a Mac doesn’t make it bullet proof πŸ™‚ I know what you mean by windows computers, their virus, and sluggishness. If I ever get my next post done I am going to cover all of that and ways to prevent it.

  7. I never knew what Java was for exactly — I’ve had it on my computer ever since i first got a computer, and I thought it practically ran the programs. But I guess if all it is good for is gaming then I will just take it off and see how things go. I do play a couple games sometimes, but I could probably live without them, lol! Thanks for the info!

  8. Hi Bob,
    My first computer was a Commodore 64 as well! Thank you for the information! Always helps my minimalistic tech brain!

    • Look at it this way, your strength is in poetry, something my minimalistic brain has a hard time processing but I am trying to learn by reading a lot of it. My strength is in computers πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

