Mama Don’t Take My Kodachrome Away

5721771706_5bc9ce7717_o

I woke up this morning with this song stuck in my head. I’ve had many hobbies over the years but the one I keep coming back to is photography. I can still remember when Kodak first came out with Kodachrome then they came out with a 100 ISO and we could for the first time take pictures indoors without a flash. I can’t even begin to count how many cameras I have had since the late 60’s but I know its been to many. I now use a bridge camera, its between a 35 mm and a DSLR. I haven’t used my camera in quite a while but two of the people I follow on here post photos all of the time. I think that may motivate me to take mine out and start using it again. The two things I have always like to shoot the most are the sunrise and the sunset. To me they are like magical times of the day especially the sunrise. The light changes so fast you can take a shot from one position and without moving your camera take another one two minutes later and have completely different results. I would take between 25 and 50 shots with different settings of the same sunrise then go home and narrow them all down to one then toss the rest away.

It took me a while to realize the secret to this or any hobby for me any way. Plain and simple I will never be better than average at any hobby I undertake, but that is ok because once a person realizes this it takes a lot of pressure off and they can just enjoy the hobby. It works for me anyway.

Now blogging for me is different. I first started years back doing video blogs using a piece of junk snap on webcam. I used the text format about 5 years ago and did ok. Now I find it very difficult. The words don’t flow for me like they use to and I struggle with every sentence. The old memory fades all of the time and I find my my mind wandering in the middle of a post. Its like there is a disconnect between my brain and my fingers on the keyboard. Now that my mind is out at the lake it must be time to end this. Have a great weekend and get off your computers and or phones and get outside for awhile its good for you!!!!

7 thoughts on “Mama Don’t Take My Kodachrome Away

  1. I think your photography is a lot better than average and I love your photos. ‘Keep on keeping on’ I’ve been outdoors and back indoors and back out.. yes, we need to enjoy the sunshine. Great blog and have a nice weekend! DTR

  2. Thanks for your comment photography can be fun as well as challenging you have a great evening

  3. Dang, your sunset photograph is absolutely gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

