Bit and Pieces

A collection of thoughts each to small to post on its own.

Two words I have used a lot since retiring are fixed income and frugal. The words fixed income will stop a sales person dead in their tracks. They can also be used to barter with. A few weeks ago I spilled one of my fresh strawberries concoctions I make on my favorite cloth recliner. I tried every way I knew of to get the mess out but nothing worked. The girls in the leasing office worked out a deal for me with the team that cleans all the carpets in this complex. He came up and gave me a bid of 50 dollars to clean it. I explained I was on a fixed income and lived a frugal lifestyle so He changed his bid to 40 dollars. Now 10 dollars is 10 dollars when you are on a fixed income and live a frugal lifestyle like I do 🙂

Two words I struggle with almost daily are want and need. Humans only need food and water to exists Its nice to have a roof over are heads but when you think about all the homeless people in the world this is actually a want not a need. When I was working full time if I wanted something I just put it on the old credit card and would pay it off in a couple of months. Now that I am retired I can no longer do that. Now I have two savings accounts. One for emergency use only and the other I use to pay cash for larger items like this new laptop I bought a few months ago. I use a simple budget program to see where my money is going. The first couple of months I used it I was surprised to see how munch stuff I was buying that I actually didn’t need.

Now don’t take this whole post wrong I am not dead broke all of the time. I actually have my military retirement and I filed early last summer when I turned 62 for social security. I carry a 30% disability from the army so that part is non taxable and my ex gets 50% of the 70% that’s left. That’s federal law nothing I can do about it. In a nutshell when you retire you have to live within your means no matter what your income is.

The main thing I miss about living way out in the country where your nearest neighbor was 2 acres away is the absolute and total silence. There is something very peaceful and tranquil about silence. You just don’t get that living in the city.

I hate the way the people drive in this town. They are always in the left lane going under the speed limit usually yacking on their cell phone. So I work my way around them then tap on my brakes to get their attention then I drive my normal 5 over the limit. Is this the right thing for me to do. No but it sure makes me feel better.

One thought on “Bit and Pieces

  1. Thanks for the likes I appreciate them all

Leave a Reply

